Archaeological Museum of Samos
The exhibits are housed in two buildings:
a) The Old Museum, built in 1912 and formerly housing the "Paschaleion archives"
b) The New Museum which was inaugurated in 1987 and contains the Archaic
sculpture collection. The building was erected at the expense of the
"Volkswagen" cultural foundation.
It contains the following collections:
Group. The group of statues is a votive offering to the Heraion and consists
of six figures (five female and one male), one of which (representing Ornithe)
is now in Berlin. Dated to 560-540 B.C.
funerary (or votive) relief. It depicts a standing nude youth, who holds a
pyxis in his left hand and offers his right hand to a seated female figure,
holding a sceptre. It was found at Chora and dates from the 5th century B.C.
"breast-plate" of a horse. It depicts Heracles fighting the three-headed dog
of Hades. To the left the cattle of Geryones are shown while their shepherd,
Euretion, lies dead on the ground. Inv. no. A 775.